2008 New Mexico State Quarter

New Mexico State Quarters (Buy on eBay) were released on April 7, 2008 as the forty-seventh coin in the State Quarter series. This was the second quarter release for the year 2008. New Mexico’s original Statehood date was January 6, 1912.

The reverse design of the New Mexico Quarter features the Zia Sun Symbol. The inscriptions include the State name, Statehood date, mintage date, “E Pluribus Unum,” and “Land of Enchantment.” The coin’s reverse was designed and engraved by Don Everhart.

The Zia Sun Symbol represents the giver of all good, who provided gifts in groups of four. The circle at the center represents life and love without beginning or end. The four rays represent the four directions, four seasons, four phases of the day, and four divisions of life. The reverse design also features a topographical map of the state.

The governor appointed members to the New Mexico Coin Commission which solicited and reviewed over 1,000 design concepts. The Commission formulated design ideas based on popular elements and forwarded them to the United States Mint for development. The governor selected the Zia Sun Symbol design, with the United States Treasury Department providing final approval.

The Philadelphia mint produced 244,200,000 coins. The Denver mint produced 244,400,000 coins. Proof and 90% silver proof coins were also produced at the San Francisco Mint.

New Mexico Quarter Mintages

  • 2008-P New Mexico Quarter: 244,200,000
  • 2008-D New Mexico Quarter: 244,400,000
  • 2008-S Proof New Mexico Quarter: 2,078,112
  • 2008-S Silver Proof New Mexico Quarter: 1,192,908

New Mexico Quarter Specifications

  • Designers: William Cousins after John Flanagan (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
  • Composition: 91.67% copper, 8.33% nickel (clad), 90% silver, 10% copper (silver proof)
  • Diameter: 24.26 mm
  • Weight: 5.67 grams
  • Thickness: 1.75 mm
  • Edge: Reeded