2005 Oregon State Quarter

Oregon State Quarters (Buy on eBay) were released on June 6, 2005 as the thirty-third coin in the State Quarter series. Oregon’s original Statehood date was February 14, 1859.

2005 Oregon State Quarter

The reverse design of the Oregon Quarter features a portion of Crater Lake. The inscriptions include the State name, Statehood date, mintage date, “E Pluribus Unum,” and “Crater Lake.” The coin’s reverse was designed by Donna Waver and engraved by Norman Nemeth.

Crater Lake is the deepest lake in the United States with a depth of up to 1,949 feet. This also makes it the seventh deepest lake in the world. It was formed by the collapse of Mount Mazama. The lake boasts incredible clarity due to the lack of incoming streams and rivers. Crater Lake National Park was formed in 1902 with the lake as its main highlight.

The governor choose the Crater Lake design. This design was the recommendation of the 18 member Oregon Commemorative Coin Commission. The US Treasury Department later gave final approval of the design. Other designs considered for the Oregon State Quarter included Oregon Trail, Mount Hood, and a wild salmon.

The Philadelphia mint produced 316,200,000 coins. The Denver mint produced 404,000,000 coins. The San Francisco Mint produced clad proof and 90% silver proof coins for inclusion in government issued proof sets.

Oregon Quarter Mintages

  • 2005-P Oregon Quarter: 316,200,000
  • 2005-D Oregon Quarter: 404,000,000
  • 2005-S Proof Oregon Quarter: 3,262,960
  • 2005-S Silver Proof Oregon Quarter: 1,678,649

Oregon Quarter Specifications

  • Designers: William Cousins after John Flanagan (obverse), Donna Weaver (reverse)
  • Composition: 91.67% copper, 8.33% nickel (clad), 90% silver, 10% copper (silver proof)
  • Diameter: 24.26 mm
  • Weight: 5.67 grams
  • Thickness: 1.75 mm
  • Edge: Reeded
  • Composition: 91.67% copper, 8.33% nickel